User revocation of shared Office files via Azure Information Protection

I received the wonderful news today that user revocation for the Unified Labeling client was added to the AIP UL public preview client.
This will allow users to revoke access from Office files shared to others that have been protected with AIP.

The great advantage here is that users aren’t required to go into the Azure RMS portal (https://portal.azurerms.com) to revoke the access but have an option added to the Sensitivity button in their Office applications.

Downloading the AIP UL public preview Client

To use use this new functionality you will need to download the AIP UL public preview Client from the Microsoft Download Center page: Download Microsoft Azure Information Protection from Official Microsoft Download Center

Be sure to select the right client by selecting either the AzInfoProtection_UL_publicpreview.exe or the AzInfoProtection_UL_MSI_for_central_deployment_publicpreview.msi depending on your needs.

Add protection to the document

Once you’ve downloaded the client you will need to protect the document from an Office application like Word.
To do this you simply open the document, click on the Sensitivity button and select the proper sensitivity label.

Note: These labels have to be created by you or another admin to label the document.

Revoke the access

Once a user has received and opened the file, the file will remain accessible until it has been revoked.
In the past you had to go to the Azure RMS portal mentioned in the intro but now you can just select Revoke Access from the same file by clicking on the Sensitivity button.

You will then be asked to confirm the revocation so the user won’t be able to open the document anymore.

After you’ve confirmed, there will be a notification bar on the top of the document telling you access to the document has been revoked.

When the user tries to open the file the next time after it has been revoked, there will be a message telling the user to sign in with a account who has access to the file or request permissions to open the file.

Now as you can see, this adds a really easy way for users to stop other people from accessing the files once it’s been shared.

I hope you liked reading this blog and if you have any questions, please let me know in the comments section.

Dit vind je misschien ook leuk...

Geef een reactie

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Vereiste velden zijn gemarkeerd met *

%d bloggers liken dit: